Tales Of An Expectant Dad: Week 82 (Final Entry!)

1002174_10151819471369697_290201084_nOn November 5th 2012, my wife gave birth to our first child. During the pregnancy I decided that I would write about the experience. Every week since I have documented all of the events that took place throughout this time, along with my thoughts on them. Now that I can confirm that our baby is happy and healthy, I will share those thoughts with you.

Week 82 – Home And Happy And Healthy (And Stinky And Loud And Gross)

It has now been 41 weeks since Alex left the hospital and I am happy to report that he is perfectly happy and healthy. He is ten months old now and not only is he crawling like a maniac, but he is standing on his own and on the verge of walking!

I hate to be one of those people who says you just don’t get it unless you are a parent, but you don’t. The emotions that come from creating a person that did not exist before, and watching him grow and develop and take your mannerisms is completely unmatched. He had me teary-eyed during Finding Nemo. I never cried during a movie in my life (including Up) and now I’m sobbing through Finding Nemo? What have I become?

It took 6 months but we finally did close on the house and another 6 to finish renovation and actually move in. I love the house. We modernized it enough to make it our own but did not change so much that it is unrecognizable from the house my great-uncle called home. There is plenty of yard space for Alex to run around in and I can’t wait to play catch with him.

The last year and a half has easily been the most emotional time I have ever gone through. Each triumph and set back and piece of news we received took more out of me than I could possibly comprehend until now. With that in mind I would like to thank every one of my friends and family for offering their time, support, thoughts and prayers. While I did not accept everyones assistance (that can be like pulling teeth for me), justing knowing that I had such a strong support system behind me made all the difference in the world.

Finally, I want to thank my wife Jessica being as amazing as she is. I can not begin to comprehend the physical toll her body went through and I never will. For her to just function at a normal level through pregnancy is nothing short of amazing, but to handle house hunting and moving and child birth and being a mother and keeping me in check when I started to waver all at the same time is David Copperfield S#!T right there!

I hope you all enjoyed reading about my experiences waiting for my son to be born. If you actually learned something throughout it then that is a total bonus. If my wife talks me into having a second kid I look forward to doing it again.

Don’t expect that any time soon thought. We’re still trying to keep Alex from getting into the kitchen.

One thought on “Tales Of An Expectant Dad: Week 82 (Final Entry!)

Leave a Reply

